Guest Reviews


We’re proud of our guest reviews; a selection of which are listed below. More can be found at tripadvisor.co.uk

“Breathtakingly Wonderful”

Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a unique escape from the rest of the world in a luxurious, immaculately designed house with every creature comfort you might want slap-bang in the middle of one of the most remote and wild places in Britain. We spent 9 incredible days at Loch View and totally switched off from work, problems and other pedestrian concerns. Our city kids were happy as clams in the house and the wilds and my son had his first fishing lesson opposite the house. Before coming we fretted constantly about the weather but in the end even when the sun wasn't shining it was a pleasure to be inside. If you want a real escape from suburban concrete, pebble-dash Britain come here!

“Faultless house in a beautiful location”

Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house is beautifully designed, built to a high standard and furnished in a modern, contemporary style. It's obvious that a great deal of consideration has been given to how it is appointed so you want for nothing. The views are gorgeous and the location is perfect if you want true isolation; it's also really well located to access all areas of Lewis and Harris. I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

“Fabulous accommodation in amazing setting”

Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you are after a luxury wilderness experience this is the place to book. Wonderfully isolated but great base to explore both Lewis and Harris. Short walk to the beautiful Bosta beach or up onto the moors for a great view of the surrounding coastal areas. The house has everything you could ever want and is a great place to just sit and watch the world pass by or come home to after a day sight seeing

“A fantastic house in a beautiful spot”

Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Loch View, Great Bernera is a fantastic holiday cottage. The view and the interior of the house is stunning. It is very modern, beautifully decorated/furnished and could not be better equipped - I wish I could relocate the house to Glasgow! Great Bernera is nicely off the main tourist routes but provides good access to the west coast of the island and all that it has to offer. Stornoway is an easy 40-minute drive. My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner was also a pleasure to deal with and could not have been more helpful.

“A magnificent house in a remote Hebridean location.”

Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Loch View is a fabulous house on a remote Hebridean island. Every detail in the property has been considered and we had a perfect stay. If you are after peace the house and surrounding area are where you can find it. The owners were extremely helpful during the booking process and throughout the stay. This was a very special place

“5 star accommodation in a great location”

Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A very new house with everything we needed. The setting is peaceful & slept like a log every night in very comfortable beds. Plenty of storage space within the house and outside for toys & bikes. Sally the owner is so helpful & made sure our time at the property was everything we wanted. We like a bit of luxury when we are on holiday & Loch View did not disappoint. Good value for money too.

“Perfect house in a beautiful location.”

Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed 3 nights over the New Year period. Loch View is everything we had hoped it would be and more. Gorgeous house finished off to a very high standard. The location is perfect and everything you could possibly think of is provided by the owners, including the champagne for Hogmanay - thanks Sally & Richard. Beautiful views out of the large front windows - wish we had this view at home. All this is within a short distance of beautiful Bosta beach which has fantastic views and an Iron Age house attraction. Would highly recommend Loch View.

"Tranquil"

***** Reviewed 15 April for a stay in April 2016

We throughly enjoyed our stay. The house is stunning. Fabulously designed, great kitchen space with everything you could possibly need, all the bedrooms are a good size, beds are very comfortable. The view is beautiful and a joy to watch as the weather changes. A very peaceful location. I didn't want to leave. Sally was very responsive to any messages prior to our trip and even telephoned the house to make sure all was ok for us during our stay. I would highly recommend this beautiful home and if I come to the island again I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

"Modern luxury against ancient beauty"

***** Reviewed 23 April for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Loch View as a family during the Easter holidays and enjoyed a truly wonderful holiday. The house is situated in a remote part of Lewis and offers a peace and tranquility that you won't find in many other places, the silence only broken by the sounds of nature. Loch View is not your average British holiday home. It is carefully designed to offer light, space, warmth and comfort, and is set sensitively in the rugged Lewis landscape. When we first entered the house we wouldn't have been surprised if Kevin McCloud had popped his head around the corner and offered to show us around this 'grand design', with its double height seating area and huge windows overlooking the loch, perfect for watching the sun set with a glass of wine in the evenings. The owners have thought very carefully about the comfort of their guests and provide one of the best equipped kitchens I have ever used, a real home from home. The beds were very comfortable and we slept soundly every night. The locally produced extras - the hand soap and tweed accessories, also made Loch View that little bit more special. The Hebrides is known for its changeable weather, and on the two rainy days we had it was lovely to spend quality time together with no hint of cabin fever setting in. The owner, Sally, couldn't have been more helpful from the first enquiry until the end of our stay, and offered us helpful tips on making the most of the area she knows and loves so deeply. We highly recommend Loch View!